We said our goodbyes

My love is like the milky moon, your love is like a distant star cast out too far, like a river that leads to no where. We said our goodbyes.

Smiles in your eyes are gone like the bread that I gave you when the deeds were finally done. Waning, like the milky moon that’s hanging over me like the clouds, of guilt and anxiety that swept me away when we said it would never be, this way.

This way. We said our goodbyes.

Now it’s time to pack up the truck and hit that narrow road that leads to nowhere. Somewhere, someone is waiting. For this milky moon to come into focus hocus pocus, how I want to believe, that this waning of the moon is but framing my chest for the readying of my heart, like that distant star, to be revealed, from the clouds, hanging like guilt inside my chest. From this dirt road that I’ve been drumming. We said our goodbyes.

Now break me free from the lovers whose net was cast too far out to catch what was right there in front of them. Those silly stars who knew too much. Those milk dipped moons dripping sipping on steam, that was pumping the trains that lead to no where. They lead to no where. We said our goodbyes.

Now I smile as I wade, walk and wane, under a milky moon that said to me finally, my child, you’re already free.

About anunbearablebeauty

I provide poetry
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment